Adult Eligibility

Eligibility Requirements

Adult services under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) are available under the Adult or Dislocated Worker program. Eligibility requirements are as follows:

Adult Program

Are 18 years of age or older

If male, registered as required for the Selective Service
Have right to work documentation (such as Social Security card, passport, birth certificate, etc.)
Priority of Service:

  1. Recipients of public assistance, other “Low Income” individuals according to Federal Low Income Guidelines, or basic skills deficient.
  2. Those who are not “Low Income” but who have one or more substantial barriers to employment such as offender status, homeless, disability, single parent, language or barriers.
  3. Veterans/eligible spouses.

Adults considered as underemployed may also be considered for services under WIOA.

Dislocated Worker Program

Meet the Adult eligibility requirements and:

  1. Recently lost a job through no fault of their own and are unlikely to return to their previous occupation or industry; or
  2. Are about to be laid off due to a plant closure or mass layoff; or
  3. Are formerly self-employed but now unemployed because of general economic conditions or natural disaster; or
  4. Meet the definition of a displaced homemaker (Displaced homemakers are equally eligible for Dislocated Worker Services if they have been dependent on the income of a family member but are no longer supported by that income and if they are experiencing difficulty obtaining or retaining employment); or
  5. Is an eligible Dislocated Worker (as defined above) who since dislocation and prior to application has not been employed in a job that paid a wage leading to self-sufficiency.

Eligibility Training Provider List (ETPL)

The purpose of the Eligibility Training Provider List (ETPL) is to provide customer-focused employment training for adults and dislocated workers.

Training providers who are eligible to receive Individual Training Accounts (ITAs) through WIOA funds are listed on the ETPL.
If you are interested in receiving training services contact the America’s Job Center of California.
To search for Training Providers visit CalJOBS.

WIOA Definitions

A low-income individual is defined under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) as one who:

  1. Receives, or in the past six months has received, or is a member of a family that is receiving or in the past six months has received, assistance through payments under a federal, state, or local income-based public assistance program (SNAP, TANF, SSI, or State or local income-based public assistance)
  2. Is in a family with total family income that does not exceed the higher of-the poverty line or 70 percent of the Lower Living Standard Income Level (LLSIL)
  3. Is a homeless individual
  4. Receives or is eligible to receive a free or reduced-price lunch under the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act
  5. Is a foster child on behalf of whom State or local government payments are made
  6. Is an individual with a disability whose own income meets the income requirements of a program described in 1. or 2. (above), but who is a member of a family whose income does not meet such requirements